Month: September 2009

  • What I Believe

     

    Here is my own personal credo:

    I believe in one God, who is God over all, infinite and omniscient.

    I believe God is genderless, but for my purposes I will refer to God as him.

    I believe that God created the universe and everything in it.

    I believe that God created me in his image, although not necessarily a literal flesh and blood image, rather the ability to think and reason and choose.

    I believe that God loves me, not because of who I am, but because of who he is. I have done and can do nothing to earn or deserve his love, it is freely given.

    I believe God desires to be in a relationship with me and has instilled in me the desire to be in a relationship with him.

    I believe that humankind rebelled against God and that a separation occurred. Our relationship with God was broken.

    I believe that throughout history God has communicated with humankind through various messengers.

    I believe that Jesus is unique among God’s messengers in that he was God incarnate, and was sent to be the one through whose perfect life, sacrificial death, and triumph over death, restoration of the broken relationship caused by humankind’s rebellion can occur.

    I believe that God continues to communicate with humankind through the Holy Spirit and other messengers.

    I believe God wishes us to continue to seek after him and know him and to be open to his messages and messengers.

    I believe that God is love, and that the opposite of God is hate, or even indifference.

    I believe God wishes us to fight against hate and indifference as expressed by all forms of evil, injustice, oppression, and apathy.

    I believe that God has a plan or a path for each of us, but that no two plans or paths are perfectly identical, because no two humans are identical.

    I believe that just because our paths are different, it does not mean that one is right and the other is wrong.

    I believe there is no “magic formula” for knowing God, but that he honors all who have a sincere desire to seek and know him.

    I believe I can never in this life fully comprehend the nature of God. I can know part, and you can know part, but none of us knows in full.

    I believe there is a life beyond what we know and understand on earth, where all paths come together, where all knowledge will be joined, where understanding will be in full, and where all who have sought after God will find him.